MIPS Resource Center

Getting the Scoop on MIPS 2018

MIPS (Merit-based Incentive Program System) is a Medicare payment program that is intended to incentivize eligible clinicians (ECs) to focus on the quality of care rather than quantity of care. MIPS streamlines and combines such currently legacy Medicare programs as meaningful use and PQRS.

Clinicians are scored based on the following areas:

  • Quality (formerly PQRS and CQMs)
  • Promoting Interoperability (formerly meaningful use)
  • Clinical Practice Improvement (expanding hours, improving outreach, etc.)
  • Cost (based on episode-specific costs reported on claims)

Clinicians will achieve half of these objectives in their EHR software.

Who's Required to Participate?

You're required to participate in MIPS if you or your group meet all of the following criteria:

  • You bill more than $90,000 in Medicare Part B allowed charges in Physical Fee Schedule (PFS) services furnished to Medicare Part B FFS beneficiaries (including Railroad Retirement Board and Medicare secondary payer)
  • You see more than 200 Medicare Part B Fee-for-Service (FFS) patients

If you fall below either of these criteria, you're off the hook—you're not eligible to participate in MIPS in 2018.

CMS defines a group as two or more clinicians who reassign their billing rights to a single TIN (tax identification number).

To learn more about the participation criteria, refer to the QPP website. or click the button below to check your eligibility.

Check Your 2018 MIPS Eligibility

What's at Stake?

Your MIPS performance in 2018 impacts your 2020 Medicare payments. Payment adjustments based on 2018 performance increase to +/- 5%—that's a potential 10-point swing in Medicare payments.

MIPS is designed to make ECs compete in quality performance. Since MIPS is mandated to be budget neutral, the program essentially takes money from lower performing ECs and pays it to higher performing ECs. There’s a lot of incentive for ECs to bring their A-game.

What are the Performance Categories?

Clinicians are scored based on the following performance categories:
•    Quality (formerly PQRS and CQMs)
•    Promoting Interoperability (formerly meaningful use)
•    Clinical Practice Improvement (expanding hours, improving outreach, etc.)
•    Cost (based on episode-specific costs reported on claims)

Cost is a new category in 2018. This is a passive category and requires no action on your part.

Quality 50%, ACI 25%, CPIA 15%, and Cost 10%

What Do I Need to Report?


Full year

Report a total of six quality measures, one of which must be an outcome measure.


Promoting Interoperability
90 days

Report all four base measures and choose five additional performance measures.

improvement activities

Improvement Activities
90 days

Report up to four improvement activities.


Full year

No action required on your part. CMS calculates cost based on Medicare Spending per Beneficiary and Total per Capita Cost.

Where Can I Learn More?

Click the buttons below to learn more about MIPS.

Eyefinity EHR MIPS Resources
ExamWRITER MIPS Resources
General MIPS Resources

Got Questions?

Contact the Quality Payment Program with any MIPS questions at qpp@cms.hhs.gov.

For questions regarding MIPS in your Eyefinity software, email meaningfuluse@eyefinity.com